Back to All Events

O'Henry's 152nd Birthday

For details, please visit or

From the online invitation:

For the Start of a New Tradition

A Party Honoring O. Henry’s 152nd Birthday 
and all of the Austin writers who’ve

published a book in the past year 

(including Sarah Bird, Edward Carey, Elizabeth Crook, John P.  Davidson, Carrie Fountain, Laura Furman, Varian Johnson, Elizabeth McCracken, Carolyn Osborn, Chris Tomlinson, Lawrence Wright, Canan Yetmen and others)


Drinks and Appetizers Provided


The first 50 ticket purchasers to show up at the party will receive a copy of the brand-new O. Henry Prize Stories 2014, edited by Laura Furman and donated by Vintage/Anchor, a division of Random House.


$30 per ticket


($15 if you bring a writer who’s moved to Austin in the past year —

for details on corraling a new writer, see instructions below)


All are welcome. Invite your friends!


If you are unable to attend but would like to donate, please purchase a donation ticket using the link above.

Proceeds benefit the O. Henry and Susanna Dickinson Museums


Validated parking at the City of Austin’s 2nd Street Garage (201 East 2nd St.), three blocks from the O. Henry Museum. 
As you enter, take the parking ticket from the machine, bring it to the party and you’ll be given a ticket that will let you leave the parking garage for free.